Digital Imaging: Bannack Portraits

alexismoser_indianIndian Woman – Bannack Ghost Town, Montana

(February 24, 2017) Westcott Apollo Orb used.

For this image I made an adjustment layer for levels and hue and saturation. I then copied the original layer and used the clone stamp tool to fix some blemishes and built up makeup lines on her eyelids. I then copied that layer and used the burn tool to highlight her cheekbone and her nose. I lowered the opacity of that layer. Using the opacity control of the layers you can adjust edits you make to reveal the original tones underneath. I used the mixer brush tool to soften some more of the skin.

I then used another adjustment layer of curves and another of black and white to further adjust light. I used a selective color adjustment layer to adjust the color of the blacks in the image. I copied all of the current edits into a new layer. A gradient map adjustment layer was used to change the highlights and low-lights to more purple and orange colors respectively. I changed this layer to the soft light mode. I added a slight white vignette on a new layer to finish.

 

alexismoser_indianwomanlookingIndian Woman’s Eyes – Bannack Ghost Town, Montana

(February 24, 2017) Westcott Apollo Orb used.

I copied the original layer and used the unsharpening tool under the filters. I copied that layer and used the mixer brush tool to soften some more of the skin. The dodge tool was used to brighten the whites of her eyes. I then used another adjustment layer of curves to adjust the light. I used a selective color adjustment layer to adjust the color of the blacks in the image. I used a gradient map adjustment layer was used to change the highlights and low-lights to more red and goldenrod colors respectively. I changed this layer to the soft light mode. I added a slight white vignette on a new layer to finish.

 

alexismoser_hotelpeopleHotel Folk – Bannack Ghost Town, Montana

(February 24, 2017) Einstein Strobe w/Octabox used.

I copied the original layer and used the mixer brush tool to soften some of the skin and the clone stamp tool to remove some blemishes.  I then used another adjustment layer of curves to adjust the light. I used a selective color adjustment layer to adjust the color of the blacks in the image. I used a gradient map adjustment layer was used to change the highlights and low-lights to more Blue-Purple and orange colors respectively. I changed this layer to the soft light mode. I added a slight vignette on a new layer.

 

alexismoser_westernsteampunkSteam Punk Meets Wild West – Bannack Ghost Town, Montana

(February 24, 2017) Einstein Strobe w/Octabox used.

I copied the original layer and used the unsharpening tool under the filters. I copied that layer and used the mixer brush tool to soften some of the skin and the clone stamp tool to remove some blemishes. I cropped the image down. I then used another adjustment layer of curves to adjust the light. I used a selective color adjustment layer to adjust the color of the blacks in the image. I used a gradient map adjustment layer was used to change the highlights and low-lights to more red and yellow colors respectively. I changed this layer to the soft light mode. I added a slight vignette on a new layer.

 

alexismoser_mountainmanMountain Man’s Domain – Bannack Ghost Town, Montana

(February 24, 2017) Large Rogue Flashbender used.

I copied the original layer and used the unsharpening tool under the filters. I used a mask and opacity to remove some of the effect. I  used adjustment layers for levels and hue and saturation and a vignette added on a separate layer.

 

alexismoser_coyboyCowboy – Bannack Ghost Town, Montana

(February 24, 2017) Westcott Spiderlite TD6 used.

I copied the original layer and used the unsharpening tool under the filters. I then used another adjustment layer of curves to adjust the light. I used a gradient map adjustment layer was used to change the highlights and low-lights to more dark red-purple and light blue colors respectively. I changed this layer to the soft light mode. I cropped the image and I added a slight vignette on a new layer to finish.

Leave a Reply

